Rotator Cuff Tears



The shoulder is a ball and socket joint. The rotator cuff is a series of four separate muscles (1: supraspinatus, 2: infraspinatus, 3: teres minor, and 4: subscapularis) that converge together and pass over the shoulder joint much like the cuff of a shirt sleeve passes over your wrist. The rotator cuff functions to move the shoulder in certain positions and to help stabilize the shoulder.

For more information about rotator cuff tears and treatment options, please feel free to talk to one of the doctors at Arizona Orthopedic Surgical Specialists.